Miracles in my Life!

One of our favorite Christian singers, CARMAN, coined a phrase, in one of his songs, on the album entitled, “R.I.O.T.” He said, “If there is a design, there is a designer, if there is a plan, there is a planner and if there is a Miracle, there is a GOD!”

A miracle must, by definition, be something that would be impossible in the natural and would require the supernatural ability of a supernatural being to perform. There are many things in nature that are beyond man’s ability to control, such as hurricanes, volcanoes, asteroids and solar flares just to name a few.

There are also events that happen to individuals, that defy human reasoning, such as terminally ill people suddenly being healed, dead people being raised back to life and people, miraculously, surviving a serious accident. It is our belief that these events are due to the power of people Praying to God and Believing that He will do what they asked .

We have touched on this topic, many times, before. It says in Mark 11 that if we ask the Father God for anything, in Jesus’ Name, that He will do it, if we Believe and do not doubt. This, of course, requires having a relationship with Him and continue having ongoing conversations with Him (doing more listening than talking) and learning how to follow His Leading.

Sometimes, in fact most times, when we need a Miracle, we don’t usually have time to Pray, which is why learning how to hear His Voice is important. Staying in constant communication with God, will save your Life and the Lives of those around you.

We have witnessed many Miracles that defy explanation, in the natural, as well as some that were a direct result of staying in touch with God, on a regular basis, which allowed Him to Bless our Lives in an ongoing effort. We wish to share some highlights from some of those times with you here. We hope this will encourage you and help to strengthen your Faith.

These events may not be in any particular order and are only highlights. We mentioned, at the beginning of our first Blog, that I was a long haul truck driver. On several occasions, God had intervened in what, otherwise, may have been a disaster, at least to me.

On one such occasion, I was hauling a high stacked load of lumber on a super-train ( 2 trailers) and heading Eastbound on Hwy 16 in Alberta, Canada. As I was passing the town of Jasper on a clear and sunny summer afternoon I had finally managed to bring my rig up to the posted speed limit, after leveling off from climbing a long hill. There was a steady stream of traffic in both directions  and I noticed a tourist look-out spot on my right. There was an elderly gentleman pulling out from the site, and I remember thinking to myself, “I hope he doesn’t just pull out without stopping, cause I’d have no where to go and not enough time to stop”. But, sure enough, he did pull out, right into my lane. I couldn’t go around on the left, due to traffic, I did not have enough time to stop so I quickly prayed, “God, Help Me!” as I tried going around him on the right.

Initially, my training and experience told me there was not enough room on the right but I didn’t want to hit the car, and possibly kill the occupant, so I trusted that God would make a way. As I came around and passed the car, I looked in my left side mirror to make sure the man was safe. Everything appeared normal and I continued on my way and all was well and I thanked God for making a way and keeping everyone safe.

During the rest of the trip, I kept running that scenario through my head, trying to make sense of what happened. Later, when I spoke to my wife, she told me that she had a sudden urgency to pray for me and asked if anything happened. when she told me what time that was, I realized that it was the exact moment that I noticed the car coming out onto the Highway. I assured her that all was well and that I had been concerned about a traffic situation but that God fixed it.

On my trip back the following week, I decided to take a look at the place where it all happened and to take some measurements. For the record, this is a 2 lane highway with one lane going east and one lane going west. The entire road (blacktop) measures approximately 20 feet across, leaving about 10 feet from the center line to the edge of the road, and in this location, there is roughly about 1 1/2 feet of gravel after that, for a total of 11 1/2 feet from center line to the edge, followed by a sharp drop off the edge, going down gradually, at first, into a parking area, for about 150 feet, followed by a 30 foot drop into a marsh.

The car was a mid size sedan, appoximately 5 1/2 feet in width, my trailers are about 8 1/2 feet wide. Even if the old man was tight against the center line (which he wasn’t) and I was as close to his car as possible, this would give us a minimum of 14 feet required for both vehicles to fit side by side (realistically, it would be more like 15 feet, since his car was, at least, 6 inches from the center line and my truck was, likely, at least that far from his car. Even allowing for the width of the tires on the outer edge (approximately 2 1/2 feet in width, since there are 2 tires per side mounted together, each tire about 11 inches wide with a gap between them of about 6 inches),  a minimum of about 13 feet of ground would be needed for both vehicles to occupy that space at the same time.

Even if the car was on the center line and my rig was tight against the car (which they weren’t), considering the speeds each of us were doing, this would not be possible  and even if it were, the inside edge of the outer tires would have just barely hung onto the gravel surface, and considering how high the load was (not to mention the top heavy weight), making a sudden shift, as I did, to avoid collision, my rig should have lost it’s footing on the gravel and plummeted into the marsh, upside down.

Here’s the real kicker, upon inspecting the road surface, there were tire tracks, that matched my tires, on the inside edge of the gravel, extending the entire distance I travelled around the car. For this to be the outside tires would be impossible (I know this because there appeared to be a small triangular blotch in the track and when I checked my tires, the left rear trailer tire had a small triangular chunk missing which matched the blotch in the tire track on the ground), which means all 16 tires, on the right side, were airborn (note: a supertrain has 32 wheels in total).

The only conclusion I was able to come up with was that God sent an Angel to hold up the truck to allow me to safely pass the car and not fall into the marsh. A few days later, I was talking with my wife and she told me that God revealed to her what happened and showed her a vision of Angels bent over on the side of the road giving my truck a place to drive. Praise God! He always takes care of His children when they believe and call on His name.

Leave a comment